PDA

View Full Version : what license do u need to broadcast on the net?



expat
06-08-2008, 09:46 PM
what license do u need to broadcast on the net?

what about all the shoutcast amateur stations? :D

expat
06-08-2008, 09:46 PM
what license do u need to broadcast on the net?

what about all the shoutcast amateur stations? :D

MADcHATTER
06-08-2008, 09:58 PM
That is currently a subject of much debate in various countries. Depending on the laws and legal requirements of your country its not only a matter of a license, it's paying Royalty Fee's to the various and sundry collection agencies. In the US the RIAA/SoundExchange backed CRB Royaly rates have driven many Internet Stations out of business or underground as Pirate Stations. We do not advocate doing anything illegal here. It's always best to do your research first. Check around and see what is required for your particular country. Also, if someone in another country tunes you in, your expected to have a license in THAT country. Basically your expected to have a license in every country on the planet if one person in one country is tuned in. Then, of course, your also expected to pay royalties in THOSE countries as well as yours!

Rediculous isnt it?

MADcHATTER

MADcHATTER
06-08-2008, 09:58 PM
That is currently a subject of much debate in various countries. Depending on the laws and legal requirements of your country its not only a matter of a license, it's paying Royalty Fee's to the various and sundry collection agencies. In the US the RIAA/SoundExchange backed CRB Royaly rates have driven many Internet Stations out of business or underground as Pirate Stations. We do not advocate doing anything illegal here. It's always best to do your research first. Check around and see what is required for your particular country. Also, if someone in another country tunes you in, your expected to have a license in THAT country. Basically your expected to have a license in every country on the planet if one person in one country is tuned in. Then, of course, your also expected to pay royalties in THOSE countries as well as yours!

Rediculous isnt it?

MADcHATTER

James
06-09-2008, 02:07 AM
In Aus, we dont need licenses but we need to pay royalties. Our gov has started being strict on royalties and its becoming hard to pay them now :(

James
06-09-2008, 02:07 AM
In Aus, we dont need licenses but we need to pay royalties. Our gov has started being strict on royalties and its becoming hard to pay them now :(

Derek
06-09-2008, 09:26 AM
Hey...

Hi All...Licenses,well there is a topic,that always seems to ring alarm bells when anyone sets up an Internet Station...Here in the UK,QTFM is covered by Four licenses,PRS...PPL...BPI...MCPS...MCPS covers the Station for any ID's with Effect Packages we use and general Music...PPL Phonographic Performance Limited,again covers us for Music and performance depending on how many tracks from Artists are played....and BPI is British Phonographic Industry...PRS is Performing Rights Society again music to artist royalties...although one is not needed,that being MCPS,although here in the UK they say you don't really need it but it is best too,you know you are fully covered then...The trouble is if you bought licences for every country,you would never be able to Broadcast...think about it...you'd be forever on a very high sales pitch...although restrictions are in each country, it seems Stupid to me that they wanna charge for each country..mmm...maybe one day they will relax the rules who knows.

Derek

Derek
06-09-2008, 09:26 AM
Hey...

Hi All...Licenses,well there is a topic,that always seems to ring alarm bells when anyone sets up an Internet Station...Here in the UK,QTFM is covered by Four licenses,PRS...PPL...BPI...MCPS...MCPS covers the Station for any ID's with Effect Packages we use and general Music...PPL Phonographic Performance Limited,again covers us for Music and performance depending on how many tracks from Artists are played....and BPI is British Phonographic Industry...PRS is Performing Rights Society again music to artist royalties...although one is not needed,that being MCPS,although here in the UK they say you don't really need it but it is best too,you know you are fully covered then...The trouble is if you bought licences for every country,you would never be able to Broadcast...think about it...you'd be forever on a very high sales pitch...although restrictions are in each country, it seems Stupid to me that they wanna charge for each country..mmm...maybe one day they will relax the rules who knows.

Derek

James
06-09-2008, 09:31 AM
One question.. why dont people go for loudcity.com or live365.com?
is it because THEY host the streams and you cant host it yourself? Are they chepaper by doing the work for you?

James
06-09-2008, 09:31 AM
One question.. why dont people go for loudcity.com or live365.com?
is it because THEY host the streams and you cant host it yourself? Are they chepaper by doing the work for you?

dj.plazma
06-09-2008, 09:31 AM
One question.. why dont people go for loudcity.com or live365.com?
is it because THEY host the streams and you cant host it yourself? Are they chepaper by doing the work for you?

James,

While LoudCity does provide hosting, their primary function is not hosting, nor is it a requirement to be licensed by them. My steam hosts are purchased separately (I use two of them) and my broadcasting software (SAM3) provides the stream/song/listener information to LoudCity via script.
Live365...they're a different kind of beast. I've always looked at Live365 as a stepping stone, but I can't deny the audience they can provide.

dj.plazma
06-09-2008, 09:31 AM
One question.. why dont people go for loudcity.com or live365.com?
is it because THEY host the streams and you cant host it yourself? Are they chepaper by doing the work for you?

James,

While LoudCity does provide hosting, their primary function is not hosting, nor is it a requirement to be licensed by them. My steam hosts are purchased separately (I use two of them) and my broadcasting software (SAM3) provides the stream/song/listener information to LoudCity via script.
Live365...they're a different kind of beast. I've always looked at Live365 as a stepping stone, but I can't deny the audience they can provide.

James
06-09-2008, 12:58 PM
thanks for the info :)

James
06-09-2008, 12:58 PM
thanks for the info :)

frostystart
12-11-2008, 10:14 PM
You could always use www.rfmradio.co.uk (http://www.rfmradio.co.uk) Royalty Free Music No PRS fees tp pay give it a go

aaronsnet
12-12-2008, 12:36 PM
One question.. why dont people go for loudcity.com or live365.com?
is it because THEY host the streams and you cant host it yourself? Are they chepaper by doing the work for you?

LoudCity and Live365 only cover royalties for stations based in the USA..that could be a reason.

nitnitr
12-13-2008, 04:48 AM
One question.. why dont people go for loudcity.com or live365.com?
is it because THEY host the streams and you cant host it yourself? Are they chepaper by doing the work for you?

At Loudcity, you have the choice to go with their own hosting, or get a pro account, and do as d.j. plazma says, provide your own host, and use Loudcity just for licensing and for the pro page. This is how I have it set up also. They do make it easier to report, but if a station grows large with listeners, direct licensing may be the best alternative. I'm not anywhere near there yet, so LC is cost effective and easier for me. And yes, the licensing only covers the U.S.

kwdservices
12-13-2008, 04:52 PM
At Loudcity, you have the choice to go with their own hosting, or get a pro account, and do as d.j. plazma says, provide your own host, and use Loudcity just for licensing and for the pro page. This is how I have it set up also. They do make it easier to report, but if a station grows large with listeners, direct licensing may be the best alternative. I'm not anywhere near there yet, so LC is cost effective and easier for me. And yes, the licensing only covers the U.S.


Yup, agreed.

1640 AM Kudia Radio is small enough that it is cheaper to use Loudcity than license directly, but Urban1 is so big that we save over $4,000/year by licensing directly.

Blazin 97
12-14-2008, 08:16 PM
if someone in another country tunes you in, your expected to have a license in THAT country. Basically your expected to have a license in every country on the planet if one person in one country is tuned in. Then, of course, your also expected to pay royalties in THOSE countries as well as yours!

Oh crap I only have one liscencse for my country the US but about half of my listeners are from other countries like Britain Germany and Sweeden! I didnt know that, are you sure thats right... doesnt sound right.

kwdservices
12-14-2008, 08:38 PM
Oh crap I only have one liscencse for my country the US but about half of my listeners are from other countries like Britain Germany and Sweeden! I didnt know that, are you sure thats right... doesnt sound right.

Yeah, there is no way that is right. And if it is, a highly doubt it would be your responsibility to block listening in other countries.

Probably has something to do with why ClearChannel here in the US blocks listening of their stations in other countries besides the US.

wildun
12-15-2008, 02:17 PM
Soundexchange per their website supposedly pays royalties to outside countries through aggreements with the royalty agencies in those countries. It is their responsibility to distribute those royalties, not the licensed station. You do not need multiple licensing per country for Soundexchange artists. I am unsure about the other agencies.