PDA

View Full Version : Really Fast: Sam Broadcaster Voice FX Help



JBVoice
02-15-2009, 07:27 PM
Hey guys,

I recently had to purchase a new computer for broadcasting due to damaging my main pc with my own clumsiness. I need help setting up Sam. My issue is the voice buffer settings. I had them set perfectly before but it still seems to be doing the crackling sound. I am running Windows XP so it can't be that (I had this problem with Vista but it was vistas fault). Could you tell me your settings for Both the output buffer settings and also the Voice fx buffer settings.


Thanks,


-JB

PS. The crackling sound is barely noticable. But to me, it bothers me...I like my voice coming through 128kbps and CRYSTAL CLEAR. :p

Jinglemaster
02-15-2009, 08:54 PM
Have you checked the soundcard JB? Isdit the same card? Does it have low latency? Have you configured it for duplex etc? Just some ideas to get you started.

HTH

JBVoice
02-15-2009, 11:28 PM
I actually fixed it...it was a bad cable! lol :)


Thanks.


-JB

GKIye
02-16-2009, 01:45 AM
HI JB
Glad you found the solution
Just as details ... I wanna give you my settings .. maybe usefull to your services

buffer settings :
- Packets = 7
- Packet time = 20ms
- Latency = 140ms

Fade out = linear - 1.0 sec
Fade in = S-Curve - 0.3 sec

Did you knew that you can use F11 at your keyboard to activate "push to talk" .. This way you have only to push F11 to fade out the music etc etc

Enjoy your week !

JBVoice
02-16-2009, 01:50 AM
niice! thanks, I might can use this for future reference.


+rep to both of you :p


-JB

Blazin 97
02-18-2009, 01:46 AM
Had the same problem a few months back when I changed station computers from an '06 emachines with windows XP to a brand new '09 emachines with windows vista. It turned out that the settings for the mic were all screwed up.

gulfam
05-24-2009, 10:01 AM
All of you guys are very right. Could anyone of you help me broadcasting from different places?

First:

I have Sam Broadcaster installed on my desktop computer. My laptop is also connected to the network through workgroup. Is there a way to use microphone on my laptop (e.g. through remote desktop)?

Second:

I am currently broadcasting from city X. One of our station's DJ is living in city Y. Is there a way to broadcast his program while he works from his own home.

Third:

How can I play a song at exactly fixed time e.g. 08:15 am using PAL script or scheduler etc??

Brutish Sailor
05-24-2009, 12:36 PM
Yes to all. Its all possible.

Are you using shoutcast, or Icecast2?

GKIye
05-24-2009, 04:20 PM
For an answer to this question, see my reply on top of this about the mic settings into SAM. If you work as I quoted earlier by using a mixer who is connected to your line in .. it has to work out
Notice : it don't work if you are using remote deskcontrol .. this means if you work from your place by login in to a server located at on other place .. reason why is simple = at that time your mic isn't connected with the soundcard of that other server


First:
I have Sam Broadcaster installed on my desktop computer. My laptop is also connected to the network through workgroup. Is there a way to use microphone on my laptop (e.g. through remote desktop)?
You can change from broadcaster in 2 different ways :
- the manual way : by clicking "Kick" next to the source IP at your Shoutcast stats page. If the SAM of broadcaster Y is already up and running and he is clicking "Kick" he gonna kick the mainserver (SAM at the main studio) from the stream and gonna be able to enter the stream of the streamprovider.
Notice : if member Y has a slower connection or is located at a far disctance .. it can happen that he has to "Kick" several time before he is getting online
- the technical way : by using a PAL who contains the IP of member Y .. that way you can shedule the right time where member Y gonna be added into the queue list ipTop. If member Y is at that time already streaming from his homeplace .. he gonna be able to stream straight to the SAM at the mainstudio
Please visit and read all possebilities at my sticky topic about PAL scripts at this link : (notice : there is a part 1 and part 2)
http://forums.broadcastingworld.net/showthread.php?t=7199


Second:
I am currently broadcasting from city X. One of our station's DJ is living in city Y. Is there a way to broadcast his program while he works from his own home.
To your third question .. I wanna redirect you once again to my sticky topic about PALs .. you gonna find some scripts who are able to shedule songs etc
http://forums.broadcastingworld.net/showthread.php?t=7199
to insert it into your Event Sheduler .. you can use some parts of the original PALs ... such as :

ActivePlayer.FadeToNext;
that gives your Event Sheduler the command to start at the right time the sheduled event-action

Third:
How can I play a song at exactly fixed time e.g. 08:15 am using PAL script or scheduler etc??
Concerning your 3rd question : it ain't recommended to do this ... it can fade out a currently played song at any time .. so even if that song is just start playing .. so not really listener friendly if it happens in the middle of a broadcast.
Hope this was usefull

Brutish Sailor
05-24-2009, 04:39 PM
Theirs another route to this as well.
You can say screw SAM all together and go with a skinned SC_Trans.

If your good with *nix at all, you can even go with the free SC_trans 2.0

or liquid soap.



KWD services has a pretty good autoDJ system as well. It has a feature called "content filler" in case a song gives a bit of gap that you need to fill, it allows you to fill that gap so you can start a show ON THE MINUTE you desire. I also like their system based on the fact that rather than have the broadcast server relay from the broadcast server, you can have their auto DJ stream DIRECTLY to your server. A very nice feature when you want to offer multiple bitrates.

Centova has something similar, but Im not a big fan of how they set up the schedule maker, due to the fact that if you want a show with multiple instances of "play every x amount of songs" it seems to have issues processing multiple instances that fall after the same song.

But for the price of individual licensing for a server, how COULD you hate their setup.


Also you have WHMSonic's autoDJ services if you run a server with WHM Cpanel. But their automation just needs more development. What are they doing that makes up for the lack of development? They took advantage of the SC_Trans ability called "priorityDJ" calling it "portDJ". It allows you to stream in from another port over the autoDJ.

This makes it possible to NEVER drop your stream. A Dj can disconnect, and the broadcast Xfades into the autoDJ. As soon as another DJ picks up the stream, it xfades into his broadcast.

gulfam
05-25-2009, 03:34 PM
HI JB
Glad you found the solution
Just as details ... I wanna give you my settings .. maybe usefull to your services

buffer settings :
- Packets = 7
- Packet time = 20ms
- Latency = 140ms

Fade out = linear - 1.0 sec
Fade in = S-Curve - 0.3 sec

Did you knew that you can use F11 at your keyboard to activate "push to talk" .. This way you have only to push F11 to fade out the music etc etc

Enjoy your week !

Where can I change these settings?

GKIye
05-25-2009, 05:10 PM
You can adjust these settings as following
> click on the tab "Window" > load Voice FX > click "Config" > change settings at "Buffer settings" > change if needed the "curve" of the fade in and fade out > You can if needed change the "Music level" to for example 75% > click OK
The music level set to 75% means that your music fades automated to a level of minus 75% of the general music volume .. that makes it easy to talk over the music .. if you like a higher or lower % setting .. thats up to you ...

Next click EQ at the "Voice FX" and adjust the EQ settings if needed
Next click "Mic off" .. now it gonna show "Mic on"
To talk you can use "Press to talk"
or you can use "F11" to make this happen without using the pc mouse

If your line in of your mic is correct you are now able to use your mic in realtime with your SAM

Where can I change these settings?
Enjoy your Day !

gulfam
05-26-2009, 12:41 AM
You can adjust these settings as following
> click on the tab "Window" > load Voice FX > click "Config" > change settings at "Buffer settings" > change if needed the "curve" of the fade in and fade out > You can if needed change the "Music level" to for example 75% > click OK
The music level set to 75% means that your music fades automated to a level of minus 75% of the general music volume .. that makes it easy to talk over the music .. if you like a higher or lower % setting .. thats up to you ...

Next click EQ at the "Voice FX" and adjust the EQ settings if needed
Next click "Mic off" .. now it gonna show "Mic on"
To talk you can use "Press to talk"
or you can use "F11" to make this happen without using the pc mouse

If your line in of your mic is correct you are now able to use your mic in realtime with your SAM

Enjoy your Day !


Thank you for this information. I was wondering if buffer settings are helpful to control over the same problem "Can't send data fast enough". I am experiencing this problem in evening for almost two hours. So, what the ways are to resolve this problem. I am normally broadcasting @ 128kbps MP3 but during evening, I am not even able to broadcast @ 64 kbps. I need to switch to mp3pro 48 kbps. So, please help me to overcome this problem.

GKIye
05-26-2009, 02:36 AM
The details into my earlier reply reflects to the config of the Voice FX

So, please help me to overcome this problem.
However you can do a similar thing into the config of SAM :
open config > Audio mixer pipeline > Air Out > Output and see "Buffer Settings"
You may increase them as following :
- Packets = 15
- Packets Time = 50ms
This gonna give you a maximum latency of = 750ms
In general this gonna solve your problems
Notice = the result during streaming depends to your internet connection .. if you have no stable connection your problem gonna continue .. however with a latency of 750ms you have to be able to get better results
If not check your connection or streamprovider
Hope this was helpfull

djultra89
01-21-2014, 10:28 PM
hi there i have an extention for my headphones, and i have plugged them into my mixer,
now everytime i want to press locktalk in sam broadcaster i hear both my voice and the music coming out?

please help!!!!!