View Full Version : "Just Host" Are they any good?

10-06-2009, 06:39 PM
Hey guys,

I just realized I have been really active the past few days with posting questions and all. All posts, I have received great advice!! So, THANK YOU! Now, my question for today is...the website hosting company called "JUSTHOST.COM"....Seems like a great deal, is it? Does anyone use their service??

My big thing is, I am not good at webdesign, and they come with a free site builder and tons of free stuff! Can someone give me their opinion? :)


10-07-2009, 09:36 PM
I gave them a quick look over, they seem to be good !

You might want to try googling the company name and see if you can find any bad dirt on the company. Also, make sure you carefully read over the terms of service * BEFORE * you sign on the dotted line.

10-07-2009, 09:47 PM
Too late, LOL! I did see a few negative reviews, but those were in 07, apparently they improved. One thing I was mad about was, they charged 2 years up front, rather than their advertised $3.95 a month, but that was my mistake. So far, I LOVE them. I changed the site layout a few times and am sticking with the current one. www.JoBoVoiceovers.com

Tell me what you think :)

johny c
10-07-2009, 10:29 PM
Wow even better than before Jon. When will it stop getting better lol.

10-08-2009, 02:02 AM
I think I am done with the basic layout. Now I am working on getting content. I just finished uploaded the two demos, then I'll mess around with getting a photo, once I get my portfolio photo taken. Other than that, I'm pretty much open for business. Now, time to close the doors to Blue Stone Productions :(

Within the next few weeks, I'm going to be gathering little profiles of all the voice over artists here, with pictures and links to their site...I'm using the old domain as an advertising tool for all the wonderful talent on this site!


10-09-2009, 10:29 AM

As some of you know weve recently launched our V3 website. We started working on it over 8 months ago on one of Just Hosts servers. All was going well and they had been involved with a lot of our development and testing of the site.

We launched V3 on 26th September in the early hours. All was looking good during the daytime until 11pm when the site was taken offline without any notification by JustHost. We asked them what was going on and they said that our utilisation of the server was far in excess of there limits for one website.

That in itself would have been fine, however they had been involved in our tests under load prior to us going live and we even have emails from them giving us assurances that they were perfectly able to cope and our site would perform well.

To have the site removed with no notification was bang out of order. Either way we then had to find another host capable of hosting us with the features we needed. On a saturday at around midnight that was never going to be easy, which just compounded the hassle that JustHost had caused us.

We are still recovering from the situation on our new server now as it meant DNS needed changing and it has taken some time for it to propogate around the world and is still not available on some ISPs.

So... in short.... NO !!!!!

Apologies if this message may seem brutal but im merely stating facts as they are to me.

MX (Malcs)

10-09-2009, 11:38 AM

I already signed up and all I need is a basic site with a few photos and a dew demos (embed code), a short bio and a way to contact me. You do need to read the fine print though, because there are a few main stipulations in which they have a right to do what they did. Now, I'm not saying its good business to just pull a site off the net, but if it went against their terms of service, I can understand. I talked to 3 people at college, in the computer department and they all have used Just Host for 3+ years, even the colleges website uses it!!! LOL, so...we shall see how it goes. Thanks for the review, even though it was a few days too late ;)