PDA

View Full Version : Windows 7



airmedia
10-27-2009, 06:18 PM
Heyup All,

Has anyone tried Win 7 since its release? I am looking to buy Protools 8 and move from the cubase platform but i was not sure if it would be compatible.

So is anyone using MS WIN 7 whats ya view on this

Alistair
Air Media

kwdservices
10-27-2009, 08:54 PM
I am noticing that Sam4 likes to crash after about 4 days, but aside from that I haven't had any issues with it.

GKIye
10-28-2009, 01:48 AM
I heard from a friend of Me that with Win7 its easier to change the compability of the software to an other platform
Could this solve the problem ?
and if so .. what would you prefer ?

Sam4 likes to crash after about 4 days

Lloyd
10-28-2009, 05:50 AM
I heard from a friend of Me that with Win7 its easier to change the compability of the software to an other platform
Could this solve the problem ?
and if so .. what would you prefer ?

Yeah, there's a program that it comes with to do that. I've been running it since the Beta stages. And its great. I havent tried Protools 8, but it should work, if it works for vista, it should work in win 7

Quick google search for Protools 8+windows 7 comes up with many results. You could always try an eval copy of win 7? if it exists. Just try it out. Or ill get a trial copy of it (if i exists) and tell you the result

-Lloyd

kwdservices
10-30-2009, 08:46 PM
I heard from a friend of Me that with Win7 its easier to change the compability of the software to an other platform
Could this solve the problem ?
and if so .. what would you prefer ?

There is a built in virtual machine platform but I can't test it because the machine which I am testing Windows 7 on has a chip that doesn't support visualization.

sschimmel
11-02-2009, 07:41 PM
There is a built in virtual machine platform but I can't test it because the machine which I am testing Windows 7 on has a chip that doesn't support visualization.


From my personal testing of Windows XP mode installed on top of Windows 7, I have found that legacy hardware that uses a proprietary expansion card or dongle will most likely not work with Windows XP Mode i.e. sound boards, etc...and USB support is hit or miss.
I think Microsoft’s intent was to provide application and not hardware compatibility when using XP mode.
For more information visit http://www.microsoft.com/windows/virtual-pc/ (http://www.microsoft.com/windows/virtual-pc/)
and for a review visit http://www.theregister.co.uk/2009/05/01/windows_7_xp_mode_review/ (http://www.theregister.co.uk/2009/05/01/windows_7_xp_mode_review/)

Nick@SS
11-03-2009, 06:18 AM
i purchased a copy of ultimate last week and i love it,

i have tested shoutcast / win encoder / flash encoder and all seems to work fine.

i have an m audio card and lots of quirky components and it has all been a breeze

win7 rules :) imo!!

James
11-03-2009, 06:35 AM
Could anybody supply some screenshots of SHOUTcast DSP, SAM Broadcaster and any other Broadcasting related programs running on Win 7 to us?

I have Windows 7 but none of these installed on it!

LeafpileRadio
11-05-2009, 07:48 AM
Here ya go James. Audition, Soundforge 10, SAM, And WIN 7 activated screen :D

James
11-05-2009, 08:02 AM
Here ya go James. Audition, Soundforge 10, SAM, And WIN 7 activated screen :D

Thanks mate! :biggrinthumb:

LeafpileRadio
11-05-2009, 08:21 AM
Not A Prob, when I get Pro Tools installed, I will screenshot it, waiting for Sonar 7 to arrive, dunno why I got it, but what the hay.

FirstActsAudio
11-05-2009, 02:52 PM
I primarily use XP, but have one machine at home with Vista. I'm still not certain why one system can't be continually upgraded instead of pushing an entirely new OS that always thrives in this unknown land of "will my old stuff work in this new environment". Sometimes I get tired of learning how to do old stuff in a new way just for the sake of being able to say I did it. lol

LeafpileRadio
12-22-2009, 10:32 PM
I've had nothing but good stuff with Windows 7. Nexgen Digi 2009 works GREAT on it. Audition works amazingly well. The whole works is great. Some drivers you have to use compatibility mode with to go back to Vista or XP SP2 but that's easy enough right?

EricVdM
12-23-2009, 06:28 PM
I'm also a beta tester and tested windows vista and windows 7 before they're were released.
I must say that 7 is very good and better than vista I also use 7 on my new radio server with SAM 4.6 and it works very well. I have a home network and make my playlists on my other pc with Music 1 SE and configerd it that the hour playlists are directly saved on the server. SAM picks every hour the playlist of that hour, no problem. I also use Adobe Audition 3.0 end it works amazing.
So wath I mean is, if you need a new OS take Windows 7 from the moment you have the handle of it it does wonders for you

Eric

GKIye
12-23-2009, 11:57 PM
Hi Eric,
Is SAM 4 operational without any issues at Win7 ?
Or do you have to change the compatibility mode ?

use 7 on my new radio server with SAM 4.6 and it works very well.
Eric

EricVdM
12-24-2009, 01:23 AM
I turned the compatibility mode down to XP and in administration modus, I didn't had problems on Windows 7 but the support of SAM told me that it was better this way, I had other problems that's why I contacted the support team and in a chat with the technisian did this came up and he asked me how SAM worked on Windows 7 and he told me that SAM wasn't fully supported by 7 but normaly had to work, so to be on the save side beceause my server works 24 hours a day and I'm not always home I tuned it down to XP. That goes very easy with just a right click on the SAM icon and than you go to properties there you can change it and when the next version of SAM comes out you can turn it back up to 7 if you like.

Eric

MarcAlle
12-24-2009, 05:57 AM
Im running Windows 7 Business and SAM Broadcaster 4.xx (latest version, to be honest I forget which one, and Im on my old laptop right now). I have changed no compatibility settings, for the sole purpose of testing Windows 7 with "older" softwares to see if and how well they work.

SAM 4.xx has been running for over 60 days now with no downtime. I am using MySQL with SAM, which really improves performance over the FireBird SQL or MSSQL. At this time I have had no issues with the install, but I will let you know if I do.

GKIye
12-24-2009, 06:03 AM
Hi Marcus,
It looks that SAM 4 works even better with Win7
Or am I wrong ?
Mine runs on Win Server2003

EricVdM
12-24-2009, 10:49 AM
You are right it's working perfectly.

James this is a screenshot of Music 1 SE on Windows 7
http://countrymuziek.be/Music1SE.gif

MarcAlle
12-24-2009, 02:18 PM
Hi Marcus,
It looks that SAM 4 works even better with Win7
Or am I wrong ?
Mine runs on Win Server2003

For me, this is the case. Windows 7 is by far my new favorite in terms of performance (out of Windows and Mac)

LeafpileRadio
12-28-2009, 09:58 PM
I've been running SAM 4 on Windows 7 Ultimate, pure platform, no compat. stuff. Works like a charm.