Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 40
  1. #1

    Title
    Previously Known As Supercabby
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    London
    Posts
    202
    Rep Power
    12

    Considering dumping SAM Broadcaster for RadioDJ + Radiocaster

    HI All

    We are considering dumping SAM Broadcaster in favour of Radio DJ + Radio Caster, there are various reasons for this:

    1. We have numerous remote DJs who want to do shows on our station and to purchase DJ Seat from SAM for them would work out very very expensive, whereas RadioDJ is FREE

    2. We have had numerous problems with SAM that do not seem exclusive to us, remote show script keeps dropping out, crackling when using SAM Live, on Reboot SAM will not connect to the database whether it's Firebird or SQL, SAM will not restart after system reboot requiring a complete re-install of SAM, encoders stopping for no reason at all, plus various other issues. Now I could cope with these problems if SAM was free but we paid for this software which is flaky to say the least.

    3. SAM freezing when searching for tracks

    4. RadioDJ is much more pleasing to the eye

    5. RadioDJ looks much more professional

    6. In our tests RadioDJ has been far more stable with no freezing or crashing

    7. Our remote DJs can use RadioDJ for free which means our costs are substantially reduced.

    8. RadioDj has everything on one screen making it much more user friendly.

    9. RadioDJ Cartwalls are much easier to use and setup.

    We have tried SAM on various different machines and encountered the same problems whereas we have installed RadioDJ on various different machines and not had a single problem.

    I admit that the initial setup of SAM is a little easier but that is the only plus side for SAM that I can see.

    Just wondered what your thoughts are on this.

  2. #2
    garybaldy72uk's Avatar
    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    671
    Rep Power
    31
    Just wondered what your thoughts are on this.
    Nothing else to say you hit the nail on the head with most of your points.

    I think you have made a wise decision to use RadioDJ over SAM the whole DJ seat thing is just a licence for spacial to print money.

    6. In our tests RadioDJ has been far more stable with no freezing or crashing
    I've been using RDJ over 2 years now the SQL database is far more Robust than SAM and I've yet to have it crash on me during a live show plus it runs for days and days without having useless PAL scripts locking the program up.

    If You or any of your DJ's have issues setting RadioDJ up send them over to the forums http://www.radiodj.ro/community/index.php We are here to help.


    Hope it works out better for you !!

    http://djgarybaldy.co.uk
    http://djgarybaldy.co.uk/radiodj-fre...ation-software
    https://www.facebook.com/DJGarybaldy


    Problems with your current automation program? Why not switch to Radio DJ Free Radio Automation Software instead? It's 100% FREE & reliable. http://radiodj.ro

  3. #3

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    9
    Rep Power
    0
    Before switching to RDJ, my Sam would crash randomly and would have to re-install. Since a switch 6 months ago, no issues.

  4. #4
    Gadfly's Avatar
    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    98
    Rep Power
    10
    I use SB but would gladly switch to Station Playlist in a heartbeat. As far as I am concerned, SB is buggy and I've tried different versions. At the moment I am using 4.2.2 (had to rollback) which for now seems reasonably stable.

    I have decided to roll back to WXP and try out RDJ.

    And I see RDJ support Flac lossless which is a boon for it.
    Last edited by Gadfly; 01-12-2013 at 11:48 AM.

  5. #5
    garybaldy72uk's Avatar
    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    671
    Rep Power
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by Gadfly View Post

    Is Radio DJ compatible with W7?

    I believe it supporst FLAC lossless.
    Yes RDJ is compatible with most of the windows operating systems Tested on XP/Win7/Win8/MS 2012 and Yes it plays FLAC http://www.radiodj.ro/radiodj-features

    It needs at least .NET 3.5 and also needs to be ran as Administrator, as i said to Supercabby if you have any issues setting RDJ up the forums will be there to help.

    http://djgarybaldy.co.uk
    http://djgarybaldy.co.uk/radiodj-fre...ation-software
    https://www.facebook.com/DJGarybaldy


    Problems with your current automation program? Why not switch to Radio DJ Free Radio Automation Software instead? It's 100% FREE & reliable. http://radiodj.ro

  6. #6
    Vanlen's Avatar
    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    87
    Rep Power
    11
    I have decided to roll back to WXP and try out RDJ
    I'm running RadioDJ on Win7 64 bit so you don't need to roll back if you'd rather not.

    Cheers
    Real AM Radio - Alternative music for the connected Lifestyle
    www.realam.ca

  7. #7

    Title
    Previously Known As Supercabby
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    London
    Posts
    202
    Rep Power
    12
    Cheers Guys, thanks for all your comments, I am glad to see that we are not the only ones who have had these problems, I just wish that I had found RadioDJ before spending the money on SAM Broadcaster which now seems to have been money down the drain.

    Out of interest what do you all use for your encoder streaming, Edcast, MB Recast or RadioCaster or something else?


    Rgds

    Jamie

  8. #8
    Gadfly's Avatar
    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    98
    Rep Power
    10
    Thanks Vanlen. Which audio processor do you use with RDJ?

  9. #9
    garybaldy72uk's Avatar
    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    671
    Rep Power
    31
    Out of interest what do you all use for your encoder streaming, Edcast, MB Recast or RadioCaster or something else?
    I use Altacast for streaming with you can find that here http://djgarybaldy.co.uk/free-automation-software/ we also use Virtual audio cables not free but worth the $30 takes the hassle out of trying to get Stereo mix working on Windows.

    I just wish that I had found RadioDJ before spending the money on SAM Broadcaster which now seems to have been money down the drain
    You're not alone with that i'm afraid i know of a few people who wished they had never paid Spacial for SAM.
    Last edited by garybaldy72uk; 08-15-2014 at 10:54 AM.

    http://djgarybaldy.co.uk
    http://djgarybaldy.co.uk/radiodj-fre...ation-software
    https://www.facebook.com/DJGarybaldy


    Problems with your current automation program? Why not switch to Radio DJ Free Radio Automation Software instead? It's 100% FREE & reliable. http://radiodj.ro

  10. #10
    Gadfly's Avatar
    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    98
    Rep Power
    10
    Thanks also Gary. Love the fact that RDJ support Flac.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •