Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 40
  1. #11

    Title
    Previously Known As Supercabby
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    London
    Posts
    202
    Rep Power
    12
    Thanks Gary, which VAC do you use, there are so many to choose from?

  2. #12
    garybaldy72uk's Avatar
    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    671
    Rep Power
    31
    This is the one we use http://ntonyx.com/vac.htm like i say not free but worth the money they ask for it.

    http://djgarybaldy.co.uk
    http://djgarybaldy.co.uk/radiodj-fre...ation-software
    https://www.facebook.com/DJGarybaldy


    Problems with your current automation program? Why not switch to Radio DJ Free Radio Automation Software instead? It's 100% FREE & reliable. http://radiodj.ro

  3. #13

    Title
    Previously Known As Supercabby
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    London
    Posts
    202
    Rep Power
    12
    Thanks once again Gary, I do hope you reconsider your decision to give up Internet Radio, you would be a great loss to the community

  4. #14
    garybaldy72uk's Avatar
    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    671
    Rep Power
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by Supercabby View Post
    Thanks once again Gary, I do hope you reconsider your decision to give up Internet Radio, you would be a great loss to the community
    Just taking a back seat for the time being but will always be around to help where possible.

    Quick heads up on the VAC. If you want to be able to talk over your stream just set the VAC to listen through Mic or line in and it will still work like a normal sound card and get Altacast to pick the sound up from the line you have set. Works rather well when i route my mixer through.

    http://djgarybaldy.co.uk
    http://djgarybaldy.co.uk/radiodj-fre...ation-software
    https://www.facebook.com/DJGarybaldy


    Problems with your current automation program? Why not switch to Radio DJ Free Radio Automation Software instead? It's 100% FREE & reliable. http://radiodj.ro

  5. #15
    Vanlen's Avatar
    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    87
    Rep Power
    11
    Which audio processor do you use with RDJ?
    @gadfly in the new beta I'm using the default processing in RadioDJ Beta8 and just tweaking and testing with a zed 10 mixer and m-audio in/out, but the main release RadioDJ 1.60 on main machine I'm running it through Breakaway Live

    Cheers
    Real AM Radio - Alternative music for the connected Lifestyle
    www.realam.ca

  6. #16
    Gadfly's Avatar
    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    98
    Rep Power
    10
    Thanks Vanlen. Good to know that RDJ with work with BB.

  7. #17

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    28
    Rep Power
    12
    We've been running SAM for over 3 years now, with no issues.
    Our station broadcasts 24/7 and has close to 400 listeners during peak hours, and besides for occasional times when we take the station offline for a few minutes for updates, we are streaming continuously.
    If you have everything set up correctly, and keep relatively up to date with SAM updates (using 4.2.2 either means that you're using a pirated version, which is likely virused, and definitely old and out of date, or you've been living under some rock, and never realized that there were newer version), you shouldn't have problems.
    You can post questions here or on the Spacial forums, and there are plenty people that would be happy to help.
    In general though, for your questions - using MySQL, if it's set correctly, will give you the most stability with SAM. Your remote DJs can be running whichever software they want to, but you can use PAL scripts in SAM and use the Event Scheduler to set things up so they're automatically connected for their time slot.
    You definitely shouldn't need to reinstall SAM after a reboot, and that normally means that it isn't set up correctly.
    You're welcome to contact me directly if you would like help with setting SAM up.
    I haven't used RadioDJ, and it's very possible that it's a great product, but SAM has definitely been out there for a lot longer, and works for so many people, and has an amazing community behind it.
    At some point, I'll probably install RadioDJ just to try it and see what it can do, but seeing the way some people push it at every opportunity and try to put down other products has kinda turned me off.
    Each person has to try both products on their own, and like everything else, if you don't put the effort into setting something up correctly and learning it well, it may work for some time, or in some ways, but you'll never get the most you can out of a product.
    Good luck with your station, and with whatever works best for you.

  8. #18

    Title
    Previously Known As Supercabby
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    London
    Posts
    202
    Rep Power
    12
    Hi Isaaci

    I did not mention using verson 4.2.2, our software is bought and paid for direly from Spacial and we have the latest version installed (excluding 2013).

    We have found it very flacky to say the least and our experience of using the remote show facility using PAL scripts have been very frsutrating to say the least. I have set it up on various different machines and had the same problem on them all. I am quite computer literate and cannot see how it is not installed properly.

    I have always hated the look of SAM ever ssince we purchased it but at the time it was all I could find, I have never used it for a Live show as I did not like the way in which it worked, I instead used Virtual Dj through my mixer and then out to another computer running SAM which was merely used for encoding and broadcasting.

    We tried using it for Live broadcasts in our other studio and it froze, cracked and popped and crashed, so why installed it on another PC and it ran OKish for a couple of weeks and then did the same again.

    I have got fed up of keep re installing it and re doing our playlists and cloakwheels.

    So its time to give something else a go.

    So far RadioDJ has proved to be stable and most of our DJ/Presenters prefer look and functions that it offers and when the new version finally comes out it will be even better, we are not going to completely dump SAM as we have paid for it so we would like to get our monies worth out of it but it will just be used as a back up for now.

    Thank you for your offer of help and should I have any further problems I may well take you up on it.

    Rgds

    Jamie

  9. #19

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    28
    Rep Power
    12
    Sorry, someone here had said something about SAM 4.2.2...
    4.9.8 should be very stable, and we were running it for a while, before we beta tested SAM 2013, and then upgraded, once 2013 was released, though if you're not on Windows 8, there aren't really any changes.
    I think a lot of the issues with SAM crashing may come with the way MySQL (or whatever database is being used, though you should be using MySQL) is set up, and if you're on top of the database maintenance.
    Also, PAL scrips can cause issues if they're not set up or running correctly.
    You also should try installing and using the Lame ACM codec - there are instructions on the Spacial forum to install it, and if you start SAM with the /LEGACYENC parameter, you can add an encoder using the Legacy MP3 option and the LAME codec.
    The best thing would be to start with a clean test installation of SAM - run it with no scripts and a minimal song database, and see how it works. Gradually add your PAL scripts in, and see if one of them causes it not to run well.
    I personally like the look of SAM, though maybe it's because it's all I've used, but I never had a broadcasting background, so from my computer background, it's been great.
    Also, we're pretty much always running SAM in AutoDJ mode, with quite a few PAL scripts and requests, but we don't really do any live shows.
    A lot of issues with the sound may be caused by the sound card and the buffer settings - we always keep SAM on silent output, so the internal sound card (or lack therof in my case - we're running SAM on a remote VM on my server) doesn't affect anything. And the buffer settings are very important - we've set ours high, maybe too high, but we don't have any issues with sound or crackling and popping.
    Obviously, if you're doing a live show, you need to have the local sound enabled, but there are some sound cards that don't work well with SAM - I haven't seen a specific list, but some seems to cause problems, though most should work fine.
    Anyways, if RadioDJ works well for you, then use that - just make sure it can do what you need, and that you learn it well.

  10. #20
    GKIye's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    @ home
    Posts
    3,033
    Rep Power
    71
    Hi Isaac,

    I agree with You 100 %
    However being addicted to older SAM versions ain't always a "pirate" behaviour
    I know an owner of a webradio at The Netherlands who was using SAM 3 since 2001 (or 2002)
    Unfortunately He has ended his broadcasts since past NYE
    He had several reasons ... he lost his focus on his project due too much problems in his family (funeral of his Mom, brother, sister and some relatives) ... All happened the past 2 Years
    Now he stopped making radio after he ever started broadcasting - as FM station - since the early 80s

    Anyway, He builded those days his own pc and a backup pc ... The backup pc was never used in all those Years ... The main pc has been rebooted a few times, but was never offline unless a few minutes
    The miracle is ... that his SAM 3 never went down in all those Years ... Yes, he made a reboot of it once a Year ... but that was the only thing he did
    Not that many people believe what I write but it is the truth
    Quote Originally Posted by isaacl View Post
    If you have everything set up correctly, and keep relatively up to date with SAM updates (using 4.2.2 either means that you're using a pirated version, which is likely virused, and definitely old and out of date, or you've been living under some rock, and never realized that there were newer version), you shouldn't have problems.
    About the silent output ...
    I noticed already several times into posts (I'm a BW member since 2008), that users have problems with their soundcard(s)
    However, it looks that not that many users know that they can stream without soundcard by using the silent output ...
    ... we always keep SAM on silent output, so the internal sound card (or lack therof in my case - we're running SAM on a remote VM on my server) doesn't affect anything ...
    Concerning my own project I'm also an addict of the older SAM version ...
    Don't ask Me why ... but my point of view is : never change a winning team ...
    If a software acts as it has to do, keep on using it ...
    Playlists are loaded ok, PALs do a perfect job and there is even music broadcasted

    Check the sound of my SAM(my) - adjustement of the sound happens by using DSPs
    So, yes ... for a part the old fashion way ... but it works ... and thats important

    BUT, I wanna say also something good about RadioDJ
    The founders of that project became member of BW since about 2 Years (more or less)
    We at BW have given them lots of feedback, ideas ... even translations of pdf files to the English language
    Gary (GaryBaldy) is currently a Mod, so it looks that there is a nice exchange of ideas
    As SAM addict I have already shared their type of software many times with people who're in search for an automation software (to broadcast or to being used at a resto, pub etc)

    I see it as a kind of the best of both worlds
    Last edited by GKIye; 01-14-2013 at 02:25 AM. Reason: typo
    Visit and listen @ BW !



Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •