Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Title

Can Internet radio be a full time business?

Hi

I'm still new to the online radio game and I wondered whether its possible to make a living from my station.
    I'm losing my Job at the end of the month and i'm at a crossroads. It would be great if i could but how realistic is it?

Dave

Title
    We have been doing it for 15 years. One of the main attractions of our station is no ads. We have managed to claw back a bit of our annual operating costs with listener donations & Google AdSense, but I'm not going to go out and buy that motor home just yet.
    Reverend Aquaman | Station Manager | andHow.FM
    Where it's *ALL* about the music!
    A world-class, always eclectic, commercial-free, alternative, modern, retro, indie rock radio station.
    Jamming the free world, one person at a time since 1998. Got Indie?

Title
    I not looking for a fortune really, just enough to support my family. Its not sounding terribly optimistic. 15 years is a long time, Is it full time for you now?

Title
    What is your actual business Jim? I started my radio station as a creative outlet but if there is a chance of turning it into a business i may be in the right place to focus my attention on that. I'd like to know more about your service. you can email me on dvirgo43@gmaill.com

Title
    Premium Member
    @dvirgo - Don't quit your day job.
    SCS - Dedicated Bandwidth Servers
    Shoutcast / Icecast / Windows Media
    Transcoding - Auto DJ - Mobile Radio - FLASH Players - Auto DJ
    Broadcasting World's Stream Host of the Month

Title
    I've already lost it..lol

Title
    Premium Member
    @dvirgo - Out of the hundreds of radio stations here on BCW, only a handful make enough money to use it as their primary source of income.

If someone tells you it is easy to do and most people do it, I can direct you to a bunch of infomercials you might be interested in.