Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20
  1. #11
    saint's Avatar
    Title
    Content Manager
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,190
    Rep Power
    28
    Trip - the first two are for stations - not webcasting services. Even Stream Licensing is not listed - so your saying Marvin has not paid either ?

    To understand information - you first must learn how to use it ;)

  2. #12
    RDJUser's Avatar
    Title
    Avid Broadcaster
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Harpurhey, Manchester UK
    Posts
    145
    Rep Power
    13
    To understand information - you first must learn how to use it ;)
    Indeed.....

    As Saint said those lists are just radio stations who report to Sound Exchange. Radionomy is a webcasting/radio hosting business.

    I'd imagine Radionomy paid everything they're supposed to, otherwise they'd be in all sorts of trouble and IF if they hadn't paid anything in royalty payments we would have heard about it by now.

    This is what someone from their support dept said on their forums. https://board.radionomy.com/viewtopi...&t=4363#p26717

    Yes, Radionomy pays all royalties through SABAM. SABAM, in turn, pays-out through its various affiliates worldwide.

    They wouldn't be able to keep something like that quiet not in these days of Social media.

    You are a lazy person
    I have already done my searches of Google to try and verify your claims so I'm far from lazy (as you put it)

    TIP: You have to get your facts correct before you write a post.

    Which is something you seem to have failed to do.

    IF you can't give us TRUE hard facts/information then how the hell are we supposed to believe you?

    I'd still love to know why you think I'm a troll (sic) just for asking for cold hard facts instead of GOSSIP!
    Last edited by RDJUser; 02-06-2016 at 08:18 AM.


    Proud USER of RadioDJ since 2010

    Online: Twitter - Blog - RadioDJ

  3. #13
    2prfm.com's Avatar
    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    28
    Rep Power
    11
    Yep, I can confirm by checking the links that Streamlicensing is on there.

    Webcaster STREAMLICENSING.COM

    But also have to wonder too if Radionomy were not paying license costs, how they are still going? Surely someone would have clammered down onto them by now.

    I would be interested in seeing why Radionomy are not paying licensing costs (if this is correct), and what is being done about it. Maybe because they are owned by Universal, universal are paying the fees on behalf of Radionomy on a third party basis?

  4. #14

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0
    I just started streaming through Radionomy after years of being with Live365. I was unsure at first and am still a little skeptical. However, I was able to sign up quickly. I just added one of their streams to the planner and was instantly giving the live URL and port. So far, so good. I am still trying to figure out the whole ad thing and how to trigger ads, but I have to say after going with them this last week, my listenership has been steady.

    The thing with Radionomy is that your live stream is cut off if there are no listeners. It will only reconnect when there is at least one listener, so you need to have the encoder set to automatically check every few seconds in order to stream live. So, I needed to upload my content to their servers so that when people connect, they are not listening to some random top 40 stream or something. So, I did that and things seem to be working. I have continual listeners for the last 48 hours.

    I really wanted to do something with streamlicensing, but their prices went up, too. So I thought I would try Radionomy and build my station more (and perhaps get some sponsorships). At my level, streamlicensing would cost me $700 a year and that was something I just couldn't pull at the moment.

    The problem that I see is trying to maintain the minimum listening hours with Radionomy so that my station isn't arbitrarily deleted. My station has never had that many listeners,. But, I've got 6 months to get to that point. We'll see.....

  5. #15
    2prfm.com's Avatar
    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    28
    Rep Power
    11
    Bruce, please, please enlighten me. How do you ad a stream to your planner?

    I've never been able to work it out, and the staff on there keep pointing me off to help files that are TL DR.

    If you could break it down in simple step form, it would be much appreciated.

    Went into planner and again just talks about boxes. Doesn't note anywhere how to add a stream, still don't get a live URL and port. This is the very thing that's grilling me off about these people.
    Last edited by 2prfm.com; 02-09-2016 at 11:37 PM.

  6. #16

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0
    It's kinda clunky, to be sure. Especially after years of using SAM and dealing with clockwheels and PAL.

    "Boxes" are places to store media and streams, etc.

    1. What I did was make a "Smartbox" and labeled it STREAMS. Then, a list of streams should come up. Click the streams that you want to put into this box. You then hit the "Refresh" button and you'll see all of the songs in that stream.

    2. Next, click on CLOCKS. This sets up a "clockwheel" like you would do in something like SAM. You need to name this "clock and hit the "+" Once you do, another screen will come up and here is where you drag your box labeled streams into your new clock. You can drag it several times so it repeats every hour.

    3. Once you finished filling your clock, go to "Day Templates." Here is where you create a larger box for particular day schedules. Name your Day Template, like "Daily Rotation" or something like that. Then drag your Clock that you just made into the day template.

    4. Finally, click on "Planning." For each day on the calendar, drag your new day template onto the days of the calendar and a playlist will automatically generate. Fill the entire week or so. Under each day, once a playlist is created, it should say "Generated."

    At this point, you radio station should be live, playing whatever songs from the streams you selected. Here's the thing: you will not get a live url unless someone is listening to the station. So, I opened up my stream in another tab. Let it play for a minute or two.

    5. Go to settings and click on technical info. You should have a live url there with a port.

    The way radionomy is set up requires that there be a listener in order to stream live. So, if you have no listeners, Radionomy will automatically go to automatic mode. That is the reason I uploaded 1000 songs and station ID's and so forth. I want the station to be set up like my own station, playing my own music if someone hooks into the stream when no one else has been there. I don't want some random stream playing. It won't be seamless, however. I have my SAM encoder set to reconnect after every 10 seconds of being disconnected--so there will be at least 10 seconds of auto play before my live stream kicks in.

    What will happen is, with a slight lag, the music from Radionomy will fade out and my live stream will fade on.

    I have thought about keeping a computer on in my basement constantly streaming the station so that it is always live.

    Hope this helps.

  7. #17
    2prfm.com's Avatar
    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    28
    Rep Power
    11
    Bruce, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, for explaining all this to the rest of us.

    Yep, my stream from radionomy is up and going, I've chosen "Soft hits" under pop. I'll be running my 80s 90s and now CHR station for a while for testing, more or less an experiment at this stage, because my opinion of Radionomy is still rather low, hopefully this will change in time.

  8. #18
    saint's Avatar
    Title
    Content Manager
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,190
    Rep Power
    28
    Bruce DJ - you should put together a tutorial for Radionomy - and have James publish it for you. Several people have mentioned that the documentation on the Radionomy Website is poorly written at best. You would be a huge hit !


    Also - FYI - I contacted Radionomy regarding royalty payments - and this is their reply ...


    Our terms & conditions clearly mention that Radionomy hosts and streams all the web radios created on our platform and supports all the costs including music rights.

    You, as a producer, have signed the “producer pact” with Radionomy, so you are covered regarding music rights, also in the US.

    If they have any questions, music rights companies should contact Radionomy.


    Best regards.

  9. #19

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    11
    Rep Power
    4
    That s the reason why i choose to end all my stations on radionomy.

  10. #20
    andhow's Avatar
    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Niw Zilland
    Posts
    270
    Rep Power
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by RDJUser View Post
    If you're going to post stuff like this at least post some evidence to back it up.... Hard facts is what people need!

    otherwise it sounds like Sour grapes and a good whine...
    http://rainnews.com/sony-labels-file...nst-radionomy/
    Reverend Aquaman | Station Manager | andHow.FM
    Where it's *ALL* about the music!
    A world-class, always eclectic, commercial-free, alternative, modern, retro, indie rock radio station.
    Jamming the free world, one person at a time since 1998. Got Indie?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •