Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    airmedia's Avatar
    Title
    radio producer
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Halifax UK
    Posts
    118
    Rep Power
    22

    Windows 7

    Heyup All,

    Has anyone tried Win 7 since its release? I am looking to buy Protools 8 and move from the cubase platform but i was not sure if it would be compatible.

    So is anyone using MS WIN 7 whats ya view on this

    Alistair
    Air Media
    Air Media - Radio Production Company
    Radio Imaging Effects - News Beds - Traffic Imaging

    Voice Overs - Imaging Effects - Radio Sweepers

  2. #2
    kwdservices's Avatar
    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    282
    Rep Power
    11
    I am noticing that Sam4 likes to crash after about 4 days, but aside from that I haven't had any issues with it.

  3. #3
    GKIye's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    @ home
    Posts
    3,005
    Rep Power
    69
    I heard from a friend of Me that with Win7 its easier to change the compability of the software to an other platform
    Could this solve the problem ?
    and if so .. what would you prefer ?
    Quote Originally Posted by kwdservices View Post
    Sam4 likes to crash after about 4 days
    Visit and listen @ BW !



  4. #4
    Lloyd's Avatar
    Title
    Avid Broadcaster
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    383
    Rep Power
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by GKREurope View Post
    I heard from a friend of Me that with Win7 its easier to change the compability of the software to an other platform
    Could this solve the problem ?
    and if so .. what would you prefer ?
    Yeah, there's a program that it comes with to do that. I've been running it since the Beta stages. And its great. I havent tried Protools 8, but it should work, if it works for vista, it should work in win 7

    Quick google search for Protools 8+windows 7 comes up with many results. You could always try an eval copy of win 7? if it exists. Just try it out. Or ill get a trial copy of it (if i exists) and tell you the result

    -Lloyd

  5. #5
    kwdservices's Avatar
    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    282
    Rep Power
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by GKREurope View Post
    I heard from a friend of Me that with Win7 its easier to change the compability of the software to an other platform
    Could this solve the problem ?
    and if so .. what would you prefer ?
    There is a built in virtual machine platform but I can't test it because the machine which I am testing Windows 7 on has a chip that doesn't support visualization.

  6. #6

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    12
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by kwdservices View Post
    There is a built in virtual machine platform but I can't test it because the machine which I am testing Windows 7 on has a chip that doesn't support visualization.

    From my personal testing of Windows XP mode installed on top of Windows 7, I have found that legacy hardware that uses a proprietary expansion card or dongle will most likely not work with Windows XP Mode i.e. sound boards, etc...and USB support is hit or miss.
    I think Microsoft’s intent was to provide application and not hardware compatibility when using XP mode.
    For more information visit http://www.microsoft.com/windows/virtual-pc/
    and for a review visit http://www.theregister.co.uk/2009/05/01/windows_7_xp_mode_review/

  7. #7
    i purchased a copy of ultimate last week and i love it,

    i have tested shoutcast / win encoder / flash encoder and all seems to work fine.

    i have an m audio card and lots of quirky components and it has all been a breeze

    win7 rules imo!!

  8. #8
    James's Avatar
    Title
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    12,182
    Rep Power
    10
    Could anybody supply some screenshots of SHOUTcast DSP, SAM Broadcaster and any other Broadcasting related programs running on Win 7 to us?

    I have Windows 7 but none of these installed on it!

  9. #9
    LeafpileRadio's Avatar
    Title
    Imaging Professional
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    137
    Rep Power
    16
    Here ya go James. Audition, Soundforge 10, SAM, And WIN 7 activated screen :D

  10. #10
    James's Avatar
    Title
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    12,182
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by LeafpileRadio View Post
    Here ya go James. Audition, Soundforge 10, SAM, And WIN 7 activated screen :D
    Thanks mate! :biggrinthumb:

Similar Threads

  1. Difference Between Shoutcast and Icecast
    By JJDJRadio in forum Stream Hosting & Server Tech
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-01-2010, 12:01 PM
  2. Hello all
    By ItsJustMe in forum Introduce Yourself
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-08-2009, 06:11 PM
  3. We Have Lowered Our Prices
    By citrus3 in forum Stream Hosting & Server Tech
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-21-2009, 11:50 PM
  4. Shoutcast app for Nokia 5800?
    By Adam in forum SHOUTcast Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-04-2009, 02:46 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •